houseinspired

Are you ready for this?

Pinterest Challenge – A Day Late

Leave a comment

It’s time to share my Pinterest project. To find out more about this challenge you can look here.

I have to say, for the record, my project of choice required a lot of research that was done before said challenge. And, honestly, could probably use more work. For now though, it is signed, sealed, and delivered. My inspiration drew mostly from something I got from my good friend Martha Stewart. After the initial light bulb, I scoured Pinterest for different versions. These were the three that I liked the most.

Left – Top RightBottom Right

I thought I’d try my hand at a good ol’ family tree. But I was really drawn to the idea of the geometrical version you see on the top right. This project required the original family tree template that I downloaded, some Photoshop skills (mine are minimal), a picture frame, and a piece of paper. However, none of this is even possible without a little help from ancestry.com. This is something Nick and I have been researching… and researching… and researching for some time now.

Now, Martha suggests simply downloading her.pdf, enlarging it to your desired size, printing it off, and filling in the blanks with a pen. This sounds easy enough. However, I don’t love my handwriting. It’s not bad, but I don’t love it. I still find myself dotting circling my I’s. Does anyone else still do this? Just me, huh? OK.

In order to satisfy my OCD I chose to make everything very uniform and streamlined in Photoshop.

The actual image was insanely small and had to be enlarged quite a bit. Fortunately for me, it wasn’t a pixelated mess. I inserted a few (or 30) text boxes and rotated them into place. The image wasn’t quite black so I did a simple color selection and changed the font color to match. Piece-o-cake.

I had the family tree concentric circles printed off at Kinko’s because I wanted it to be larger than the 8.5×11 size my printer at home handles. I also didn’t want to run the risk of any smudges or imperfections that often comes with an ink jet. To have this printed professionally cost me less than 50 cents. Boo ya!

I picked up the frame at Hobby Lobby during a 50% off sale. (When is there not a 50% off sale at Hobby Lobby? For reals, yo.) It slipped in right behind the matte and then I called it done.

As you can tell we are missing some information. It’s amazing how easy it is for entire families to fall off into the abyss, never to be seen again. We will continue to research and add things as we find more information. Until then we are debating where to hang our new beauty. We recently did a little living room shake-up so maybe you’ll see it appear in there some day.

Leave a Reply

