houseinspired

Are you ready for this?

Inspiration: Pantry

2 Comments

Alas, the pantry is still not done due to life. Seriously, I’ve been working some long hours and Nick’s 9-5’er hasn’t stopped there. We’ve done some fun little projects including adding some [fake] flowers to the front porch and creating a little (real) hydrangea garden in the front yard. I read something online (because you can believe everything you read online) that said hydrangeas are easy to take care of and keep alive. Well, so far, they’re not. I guess I have to consider that my black thumb might be part of the problem. We will soon have some before and after pictures of the front porch (once it’s all done). And I know the suspense is killing you as to whether or not I kill the hydrangea by the end of the summer. I may give up completely and plant fake flowers all over the yard. Don’t judge, the thought has crossed my mind a time or two. It’s something this black thumb can handle.

Moving along on the pantry front, (verrrrry slowly) I thought I’d show you the inspiration  that spurred our impromptu trip to the hardware store.

This photo is from House of Smiths and you can find the entire pantry makeover here. I salivate a little every time I see this. Don’t you just love the organization? Granted, our pantry won’t look exactly the same. We have textured walls and won’t be able to wallpaper (sob) and we have a different kind of shelving. But we aren’t trying to reproduce this exactly, just take inspiration from it. I am still sampling paints to find that perfect grey color for the walls. The shelves (and trim) will be painted with a Valspar paint called ‘Doves Wing.’ One of the paint samples I picked out for the wall color is called ‘Dove’s Cry.’ We could have a whole dove theme going on in there.

I have started picking up, little by little, some storage options for the pantry to keep everything in place and organized once it’s all completed.

My in-laws got these for me for my birthday last month. I asked for them and was so excited to see them in their pretty little box. These are from Hobby Lobby and were purchased 50% off. They are great for keeping things fresher for longer and (even better) more visible and easily accessible. I like the clean, sleek look of it all.

I also picked some of these up from Target for less than $5 each. Wouldn’t they look cute with some black and white labels? Something simple to identify each food item like these.

These were on clearance for $7.48 each at Target so I picked up two. I was thinking about finding some cool looking potato sacks and putting them in each basket to hold, what else, potatoes! (And onions, garlic, and such.) I was thrilled with my clearance find!

My favorite addition to the pantry…

A banana hammock! Nick laughed at me for this one. But it’s totally worth it! At least aesthetically. You should get one, your bananas will thank you.

The photo above gives you a little sneak peak of some of the paint colors we are looking at for wall colors. The one on the left is ‘Dove’s Cry’ that I mentioned earlier. On the right is one that Nick picked out called ‘Roasted Garlic.’ (Both by Valspar.) I’m not dying over either one so we’ll keep shopping around. Maybe something a little darker, but not too dark. Something with a little more contrast to the trim, shelves, and cabinets. Suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Inspiration: Pantry

  1. I love the open pantry look! And I like the “steel” gray idea. You could probably get some really neat “antique” looking jars that would look cool, too. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

